Emerging Conservator Zoom Talks: Pursuing a PhD

User menu

Now fully booked out: a recording will be available to IIC members from mid February.

During the IIC Edinburgh Congress, in the Students and Emerging Conservators chatroom, multiple participants expressed their interest in talking about PhDs in our profession. Students and emerging conservators were particularly interested in meeting face-to-face virtually in order to network with other participants and to discuss this specific topic, PhDs, in more depth.

This sparked the creation of the Emerging Conservator Zoom talks.

On the 10 February, interested students, emerging and established professionals will meet online to share their thoughts on PhDs in conservation. Similar to the Student and Emerging Conservator Conferences this call will focus on networking with other students and professionals as well as sharing thoughts and ideas with other experienced conservators.

We will be asking:

  • What options do conservators have when pursuing a PhD?
  • What are the best strategies to get funding?
  • How does professional life look for a conservator-restorer after completing a PhD programme?

Our Speakers

We are also delighted to be welcoming four speakers, all IIC Fellows who have taken this path and can share their practical experience. They are:
 

Stavroula Golfsmitsou (BA, PhD, FIIC) is Senior Lecturer at the Department of Conservation, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. Prior to this she was a lecturer in conservation studies at UCL Qatar where she set up and coordinated the MSc in Conservation Studies. Her research interests focus on corrosion and conservation of metals and polymers and the broader implications of conservation on the perception and valorisation of artworks. She is coordinator of the Coming Clean research project which investigates decision-making processes in cleaning of cultural heritage and the factors affecting them. She has supervised PhD students in conservation of metals, the use of gels for the cleaning of plastics and public perception of conservation by museum visitors.  She is a Fellow of IIC and a former member of Council.

 

Dr Gunnar Heydenreich is Professor for Conservation of Modern and Contemporary Art at the Cologne Institute of Conservation Sciences (CICS) / Technische Hochschule Köln. He studied paintings conservation at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Dresden and he gained a Ph.D. from the Courtauld Institute of Art, London. From 1995 to 2009 he was head of paintings and contemporary art conservation at the Restaurierungszentrum in Düsseldorf. He was a founding member of the International Network for the Conservation of Contemporary Art (INCCA) and co‐organiser and participant of several European research projects on the conservation and presentation of contemporary art: Inside Installations, PRACTICs, NeCCAR, and NACCA. He is head of the Cranach Digital Archive (lucascranach.org) at the Kunstpalast in Düsseldorf. He is also a Fellow of IIC and Associate Editor of Studies in Conservation.

 

Joyce Hill Stoner has taught for the Winterthur/University of Delaware Program in Art Conservation for 45 years and served as its director for 15 years (1982-1997). She received her M.A. in Art History at the Institute of Fine Arts of NYU (1970), her diploma in conservation at the NYU Conservation Center (1973), and a Ph.D. in Art History (1995, UD). She is an Honorary Fellow of IIC and former IIC Vice President.

 

Dr Austin Nevin is the Head of Conservation at the Courtauld Institute of Art and a Vice President and Fellow of the IIC. He has a background in Wall Painting Conservation and Conservation Science, with a first degree in Chemistry. He is the co-author of over 100 peer-reviewed publications.
 

Due to enormous demand, this event is now in two halves:

Small group discussion for early bookers:  10 February 2021 at 18:00 CET // 17:00 GMT // 12:00 PM (EST)

Webinar event with our four speakers: 10 February 2021 at 19:00 CET // 18:00 GMT // 13:00 PM (EST)

We have been in touch by email with everyone who booked with full details -  a zoom link will be sent to you a few hours before the event. The second half of the event will be recorded and available to IIC Members on our Community Platform within a few days of the event. Not a member? Join IIC to gain access to recordings of this and other material from our Professional Development programme.