2013 HP Image Permanence Award announced

User menu

Yoshi Shibahara has been announced as the winner of the 2013 HP Image Permanence Award.
Sponsored by the Hewlett-Packard Company and given with participation of IIC, the HP Image Permanence Award recognizes outstanding contributions that advance the longevity of photographic and fine art images created via modern digital methods. The 2013 award is given to Yoshihiko Shibahara (FUJIFILM Corporation) “for his significant contributions to furthering the understanding of how modern print materials respond to forces of decay such as light, pollution, and humidity.”
Yoshi Shibahara is a senior technical manager of the R&D Management Headquarters of FUJIFILM Corporation. He obtained a master’s degree in engineering from Japan’s Kyoto University (1978) and subsequently joined Fujifilm’s research and development division. Mr Shibahara’s work has primarily focused on the research and development of imaging materials, such as silver halide photographic colour negative films, colour reversal films, inkjet media, inkjet ink, and xerographic photo-grade media.
He is known for his technical background in design and evaluation of imaging materials, imaging systems, and image permanence. Mr Shibahara participates in activities that encourage consumers to create photographic prints for archiving purposes rather than storing images as digital data. He has been a member of the ISO Technical Committee 42 (TC 42: Photography) since 1996 and has served as the head of delegation for Japan, as an expert of the ISO/TC 42/WG 5 (Working Group of physical properties and image permanence of photographic materials), and project leader for important WG 5 initiatives related to image permanence. Recently, Mr Shibahara expanded his interests to electronic display. In 2012, he was appointed Secretary of IEC/TC 110, which focuses on the international standards of electronic display devices. Through international standard activities in both photography and electronic display, Mr. Shibahara continues to work to improve the quality of imaging materials and imaging systems.
For further information about the award please visit: https://www.iiconservation.org/node/15